New Year Resolutions

Every year we insist on making resolutions on New Year’s Eve and every year most of them get broken.

This year my resolution was to write fiction every day. I have a limit which is my minimum amount of words a day. Okay, twenty-five words is easy to reach and most days I go over the minimum.

But this is the whole point!

If you have a limit you never reach, it becomes demoralising and you start to think why am I bothering? You’re finished before you’ve even began.

So my advice is start small and increase slowly. Also keep track of what you  have done as this can be a great motivator to beat what you achieved the week before.

This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

