Poetry

Last night I was reading poetry that was written in World War 1 about war. Good poetry can invoke feelings and images. I heard the guns firing, I could smell the sweat, blood and decaying corpses, I felt the mother’s sorrow when her son would never be coming home.

            Poetry is amazing. It looks so simple on the page that it can inspire people to write their own. Having tried writing poetry, I already know that it is not for me. But it is great for inspiring the flow of ideas and I’m safe in the knowledge that I can write my bad poetry and nobody will ever see it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Poetry

  1. JK Fowler says:

    Hi there. Thought you might enjoy this: http://jkfowler.com/2009/11/09/sense/. Cheers, JK.

  2. A.j. says:

    you need to share this type of ‘meaty’ poetry on your blog, it seems it is very hard to get published –
    come visit my poetry site –
    http://abberantverse.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

