Unusable ideas?

I have come up with some crazy ideas over the years. Some of the ideas I have tried to turn into stories, others I have known from the beginning would never make it beyond the initial idea stage.

Even knowing I’m not going to take the idea any further, I still like to write them down and put them into the idea folder. Reading this folder when I’m at my most uninspired can sometimes strike the spark that helps get me writing again.

If not I can always use a couple of my ideas in a wordpool to source better ideas that are more suited to what I want to write about. What is a wordpool you ask? Basically you list whatever comes into your head, most people give themselves a time limit for this – I find 15 minutes is more than enough. You then look through the wordpool and pick out words, phrases, sentences that inspire you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Unusable ideas?

  1. Thanks for creating this. I really feel as though I know so much more about the topic than I did before. You should continue this, Im sure most people would agree youve got a gift.

  2. Kelly Hart says:

    Hi Andrew,

    Putting the ideas on cards and then mixing them up and picking one at random sounds like a great daily writing exercise.

  3. Andrew Girle says:

    The wordpool is an interesting idea – especially if you make the notes on cards and throw them down on the table in front of you so they can mix up as much as you like.

    And there is a ‘second use’ for all those spare ideas too – by writing them down and filing them, they aren’t buzzing around in your head like butterflies on speed, distracting you from your current project.

    Now to go follow that advice!

Leave a Reply

