First Chapter of Novel

I have decided to submit the first chapter of my novel as assessment for my course. In the end the decision to choose the novel chapter over the short story was easy. I had given myself time to work on one assignment and I’ve been wanting to get back to the novels.

I’ve chosen to work on my very first novel affectionately called Blood as a working title. I’m hoping to use the masters to get it completely finished, edited and polished.

The schedule for writing the other novel in progress Shallishee Storm has now been delayed due to my study and work schedule. After standing back and realising just what I’m trying to squeeze into this year I’ll be happy if Blood is completed to a publishing standard at the end of the masters. Anything else will be a bonus.

The moral of the story is that sometimes you need to take stock of your life and realise that a goal you have set previously needs to be altered. It’s also important to make sure the goals you set aren’t reliant on other people or companies. If they are make sure the goal you set is something you can obtain without being on their timeline.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to First Chapter of Novel

  1. Hi Kelly, Good luck with Blood. Have a read anything from that novel? Love Shallisee Storm … Hope you find the time for that one too :))

    • Kelly Hart says:

      Hi Karen,

      Thanks for the support. I’m not sure if you have read anything from Blood. I would love to be able to do both of the novels, but I had to decide which one had priority and that was Blood.

  2. pawhitehouse says:

    Kelly, I just love your blog! I’m looking forward to your next installment.

    I especially adore your web header picture. When I next see you – hopefully soon- I’m going to pick your brain on how you did it!

    • Kelly Hart says:

      Hi Penny,

      I’m really glad you are enjoying the blog. Anthony did the header for me – I can help if you are after tips on how to change your picture, but anything about the artwork is way out of my league. 🙂

      I love the header as well, Anthony did a fantastic job of it.

      Regards,
      kelly

  3. Kelly Hart says:

    Hi Andrew,

    Great idea, at the moment books two and three in the series don’t even have working titles.

    Cheers,
    Kelly

  4. Andrew Girle says:

    Good luck! Out of interest, what are books two and three in the sequence called? Sweat, then Tears ?

Leave a Reply

